Archive

Archive for April 22, 2010

US Postal Service Letter

This is one of the kindest things you may ever see. It is not known who replied, but there is a beautiful soul working in the dead letter office of the US postal service.

Abbey & Meridith

Abbey & Meridith

Our 14 year old dog, Abbey, died last month. The day after she died, my 4 year old daughter Meredith was crying and talking about how much she missed Abbey. She asked if we could write a letter to God so that when Abbey got to heaven, God would recognize her. I told her that I thought we could so she dictated these words:

Dear God,

Will you please take care of my dog? She died yesterday and is with you in heaven. I miss her very much. I am happy that you let me have her as my dog even though she got sick.

I hope you will play with her. She likes to play with balls and to swim. I am sending a picture of her so when you see her You will know that she is my dog. I really miss her.

Love, Meredith

We put the letter in an envelope with a picture of Abbey and Meredith and addressed it to God/Heaven. We put our return address on it. Then Meredith pasted several stamps on the front of the envelope because she said it would take lots of stamps to get the letter all the way to heaven. That afternoon she dropped it into the letter box at the post office. A few days later, she asked if God had gotten the letter yet. I told her that I thought he had.

Yesterday, there was a package wrapped in gold paper on our front porch addressed, ‘To Meredith’ in an unfamiliar hand. Meredith opened it. Inside was a book by Mr. Rogers called, ‘When a Pet Dies.’ Taped to the inside front cover was the letter we had written to God in its opened envelope. On the opposite page was the picture of Abbey & Meredith and this note:

Dear Meredith,

Abbey arrived safely in heaven.

Having the picture was a big help. I recognized Abbey right away.

Abbey isn’t sick anymore. Her spirit is here with me just like it stays in your heart. Abbey loved being your dog. Since we don’t need our bodies in heaven, I don’t have any pockets to keep your picture in, so I am sending it back to you in this little book for you to keep and have something to remember Abbey by..

Thank you for the beautiful letter and thank your mother for helping you write it and sending it to me. What a wonderful mother you have. I picked her especially for you.

I send my blessings every day and remember that I love you very much.

By the way, I’m easy to find, I am wherever there is love.

Love,
God

Categories: JAR news...

Meet PIP!

** Update: 28th April, 2010 – Sad news…. **
I’m sorry to tell you this, but Pip has just passed away. He was fighting real hard, but the infection has gotten the best of him. He became lethargic on Monday night but after some feedings he seemed to recovery slightly. I took him to the vet yesterday and they diagnosed him with a viral infection. They said they could do little for the infection itself but they gave me antibiotics for any secondary bacterial infection and eye drops for an eye inflection he had developed as well. Pip remained lethargic despite the medication yet he seemed a little stronger. We kept him warm and fed but he far from the active, meowing kitten he had been just days before. He passed away during the night. He was a great little kitten and we miss him already.

** JAR would like to thank her foster parent (Emily) for looking after Pip **

Message from our rescuer: 18th April, 2010

‘Pip was found on the campus of Shanghai High School on 4/16/2010. It was terribly cold that night, and pretty wet too. We didn’t see her at first, rather, we heard her. She was mewing so loud we could hear it a good distance away. Wondering where the sound was coming from, my friend and I went to investigate along a less taken path, and there she was! She was lying in the middle of a brick road, very cold and very alone. Her eyes were closed and she could fit in one of my already small hands. We looked around for its mother or siblings, but could find neither. So I took her in. She has earned the name Pipsqueak because she loves to mew and meow. She also loves to explore! Despite her closed eyes, she still tried to crawl into and investigate everything around her. She is definitely a lover though, and enjoys being close to people. I worried she wanted to be a pirate because her right eye opened on the morning of Sunday 4/18, but her left eye remained closed. Upon discovering vision she has become more and more curious about the world around her. Her left eye only opened up about an hour ago (4/19, 9:30pm). She is a joy to be around, however, I am unable to take care of her due to my job and the amount of care a newborn kitten needs. I hope she will bring joy to whomever takes her to her forever home. We estimate her to be around 10 days old given the timing of her eyes opening.’

If you are interested in fostering/adopting Pip, please contact us!

More puppies! :O

April 11th – Baoshan puppies – approx 5 weeks old!

Pictures below of the 6 puppies we have available for adoption/fostering!
Further to our recent success in adopting all the 8 Puxi Puppies, I am sure that these 6 will go too!!  🙂

Please contact us if you are willing to help us out!
Email: shanghaidogs@gmail.com

Animals available for Adoption!!

Dear All, 

Please find attached recent animals in need of a permanent home and loving families.

For our updated galleries, please check link below:
http://jargroup.doodlekit.com/album
 
Up-to-date News & Projects:
https://jarshanghai.wordpress.com
If you have friends or colleagues interested in adopting or fostering, please do not hesitate to contact us!
 
Thank you for your support!

Best regards,

JAR GROUP