Home > JAR news... > Happy Chinese New Year from Singapore! – Love, Oneida xxx

Happy Chinese New Year from Singapore! – Love, Oneida xxx

Hi all,

I wanted to send you a message to share my experience of moving to Singapore. Tony, Charis and Fiona I’m sorry I didnt have time to call and say bye, it was a crazy schedule. Of course, Oneida moved too. He is now in quarantine until the 22nd, a bit unhappy but in good health.

When I first adopted Oneida 3 years ago, I knew that it would be a commitment and that I would have to take him with me wherever I go. I was prepared mentally to move him with me, and also decided that I would not consider Australia because of the strict 6 months of quarantine (no way). So, for the cost of a Louis Vuitton bag I will not buy anymore now, I moved him.
I moved very quickly, basically I had only one month and so I hired Sabrina (PETIS) to help me relocate Oneida.
I chose Sabrina as she knew what she was doing, and I didnt have time to handle everything on my own. She was very responsive and for a good price too. Sabrina thank you so much for your kind help, I know I am not the easiest client.
On the Singapore side, I chose Petmovers who are very nice and professional.
Before flying, I started training him to the cage – of course he hated it, but then as I had to fly first, my friends kept on training him a bit everyday for up to 3 hrs inside. Oneida took a Singapore Airlines flight, as their regulation is more strict but of course so much safer for the pet. The agent from Petmovers sent me a picture right after he released from his cage upon arriving, and Oneida looked perfectly fine and confident. He didn’t mess up in his cage and didn’t cry at all at arrival. I was so relieved and proud too. I visited him at the quarantine station, and I must say he wasnt that surprised (I went to the extent of explaining him everyday and sending wechat voice messages to my friends for him to listen to keywords like ‘wait’ and ‘home’. He totally listened.) On that day, I saw in his eyes a depth of love and happiness I never seen before although we are very close. Now he is a bit upset because he is used to play with other dogs at Buddy Dog, and hang out with everyone at their office. Obviously this is not the case for quarantine. Now I am waiting for him.

I wanted to share this email since you are the people who got involved into rescuing, helping and taking care of this wonderful animal. Also you trusted me when I said I was serious about this commitment and I want to thank you for that. Oneida grew up on a construction site in Pudong and was raised by migrant workers who were planning to eat him and other pups by the winter. A kind Chinese lady saved him and that’s how he got listed in JAR. (Vivian, please send her this email.) Because of that, Oneida was shy and scared of everything 3 years ago because of his abused puppy-hood (especially Chinese men, but a random empty plastic bag in the street would freak him out). It took him a long time to learn how to play. I worked with him with much love and every day encouragement to the point that today he is an Alpha dog who demonstrates consistently signs of intelligence, high sense of protection and a very balanced temper.
All my friends fight over dog sitting him. He is the best choice I made over the last few years. Now I am only counting the days (17 today!) before he can come home.

I also want to say to all people adopting a pet that they should know that moving will come at a price, it may even be a headache, but they deserve not to be left behind. It is a commitment you have to honor the day you welcome the animal in your life. Here is a little ‘wave’ picture, happy new year for everyone and let me know if you ever come down to Singapore.

Happy New Year!

Rebecca
Wavin goodbye!!

Categories: JAR news...
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

